Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II, after a meeting with Acting President Yemi Osinbajo at the Presidential Villa in Abuja on Thursday photo: EJIGA IBRAHIM/ICE/NAN

Abdullahi Ganduje, governor of Kano state, has given assent to the bill passed by the Kano house of assembly on breaking up the emirates in the state.

With the development, Kano now has five emirates: Kano, Rano, Gaya, Karaye and Bichi, while the domain of Muhammadu Sanusi, emir of Kano, has been reduced.

Ganduje had earlier vowed to give assent to the bill immediately it is transmitted to him.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here