Senator Omo-Agege

Sunday Silver E.

Abuja/ Delta (Regulus)- History has been made today by the Sen representing Delta Central in the Nigerian Senate, Sen Ovie Omo Agege, as he won the Deputy Senate President election in the 9th Senate.

At the inauguration of the 9th Senate today, the position of the Senate President was won by Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan representing Yobe North, with 79 to 28 votes against Seen Ali Ndume of Bornu South.

Sen Ovie Omo Agege slog it out with current Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekwerremadu, and emerged victorious Haven pulled 68 votes against his challengers 39. Although the opposition party have endorsed the candidates of Ndume for Senate President and Bago for Speaker.

The ruling party on the other hand endorsed Lawan for Senate President and Gbajabiamila for Speaker. Senator Borifice, Kalu, Francis, all stepped down for the candidature of Agege before the election of today.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here